MEDIA RELEASE

11555

IH.

18th January 2015



Second Group 1 for Dyna Villa By Jeff Collerson GRNSW Website

Dyna Villa (\$2.20) continued his meteoric rise up the sprinting ranks, taking out the Group 1 Ladbrokes Paws Of Thunder (520m) at Wentworth Park on Saturday night.

Jumping from box eight, Dyna Villa was able to cross from the wide draw and hold out the early pacesetters to lead going through the first turn. From there, Dyna Villa entered another gear, pulling away from his rivals to win by 2 1/2 lengths in 29.69.

Assertive Bella (\$4.70) held on well for second place with Kerrigan Bale (\$11.90) a further 4 1/2 lengths away in third.

E A S

-

Dyna Villa made some history, with the Jenny Hunt-trained chaser becoming the first greyhound to win the Paws Of Thunder and Melbourne Cup.



Dyna Villa in action last week at Wentworth Park

And Dyna Villa will not be resting on his laurels with the dog's handler Joe Briffa, spokesman for trainer Jenny Hunt, indicating the dog will be back at Wentworth Park for next Saturday night's heats of the National Derby.

Continued on Page 2...

AUSTRALIAN BREYHOUND RACING ASSOCIATION

"The Perth Cup heats are a week later but Western Australia is a long trip so I reckon Jenny will opt for the National Derby series in Sydney," Briffa said.

"This dog is simply a great chaser."

Dyna Villa took his record to 19 wins from 30 appearances and has already earned more than \$600,000 in prizemoney.

While Dyna Villa's dominant effort was tremendous, run of the night (and possibly year) came in the Group 2 Ladbrokes Summer Distance Plate (720m), in which Space Star, staged a breathtaking performance to win.

Space Star (\$1.30) copped a severe check in the early stages and gave fellow Victorian Starc (\$6.30) a huge start, only for the Robbie Britton-trained stayer to run him down in the final stages.

Amazingly Space Star was able to cover the 720m in 42.18, 0.2 faster than he posted in his all-the-way heat win a week earlier.

Robbie Britton has won dozens of group races but even he was gob-smacked at Space Star's effort.

"That was a run and a half," a beaming Britton said after the race.

"I didn't see him get hit in the early stages and when he dropped back sharply I thought he had broken down.

"Then when he got going again I still believed he was gone and could not get anywhere near the leader from where he was."

Meanwhile, Dyna Nico won the tenth running of the Collerson. Jumping smartly it was a one act affair, with the Andrea Dailly trained sprinter leading throughout for the Wheelers.

Wentworth Park now turns to the heats of the Group 1 National Futurity on Friday night, while the National Derby heats will headline Saturday's card.

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order Whittaker (\$13.00), Maximum Lil (\$18.50), Spring Leaf (\$14.10), Shoulders (\$6.80) and Coolabah Jet (\$11.90).

Dyna Villa is a Black dog whelped October 2012 by Collision from Roxio Bale (Droopys Vieri x Francesca Bale). Dyna Villa is raced Brendan Wheeler and trained by Jenny Hunt. He has raced 30 times for 19 wins and nine placings. After adding the \$100,000 first prize for the Paws of Thunder his stake earnings stand at \$629,990.

After the placings in the Summer Plate the field finished in the following order Pumped Up Zarr (\$20.30), Double Rinse (\$38.80), Big Kat (\$27.90), Serena Nimbus (\$18.40) and Zipping Rory (\$9.50).

Space Star is a Black dog whelped June 2012 by Bekim Bale from Tonta Tears (Kiowa Sweet Trey x Tears) he is raced by Camilla Limon and trained by Robert Britton at Lara in Victoria. Space Star has raced 29 times for 17 wins and eight placings with prizemoney of \$146,700.

Listed below are the past winners of Paws Of Thunder which was formerly known as the St.Leger and first run in 1957. The NSW NCA restructured the prizemoney and the race name in 2001. It is now conducted by the GBOTA.

1957 Idle Sign, 1958 Ebony Minda, 1959 Super Samson, 1960 Constant Raider, 1961 Elsie Moss, 1962 Black Top, 1963 Miss Warcroft, 1964 Revival King, 1965 Daily Tide, 1966 Sunset Fire, 1967 Another Glitter, 1968 Zoom Top, 1969 Beau Brin, 1970 Size Seven, 1971 Romantic Top, 1972 Likely Light, 1973 Trella Light, 1974 Busy's Chief, 1975 Mighty Aussie, 1976 Palaver, 1977 Fine Arama, 1978 Oberon Lily, 1979 Lord Raleigh, 1980 Glider's Son, 1981 Promises Free, 1982 Winifred Bale, 1983 Winston Lass, 1984 Beach Rhythm 1985 Another Flash, 1986 Memories Gate, 1987 See Yah, 1988 Grizzly Bear, 1989 Jessica Kate, 1990 Dixie Lass, 1991 Little Denver, 1992 Iago, 1993 Leon Mal, 1994 Zazziam, 1995 Nine Inch Nails, 1996 Tamborine Dancer, 1997 Elle's Commando, 1998 Waiwera Marika, 1999 Stately Bird, 2000 Some Secret, 2001 Suellen Bale, 2002 Modern Assassin, 2003 Winsome Shot, 2004 Kobble Rock 2005 Pure Octane, 2006 Suave Fella, 2007 Leprechaun Pace, 2008 One Tree Hill, 2009 Cindeen Shelby, 2010 Lochinvar Marlow, 2011 Fancy Will, 2012 (Not Held) 2013 Sheikha and 2014 Iona Seven.

For more information please contact: Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950 nbrown@agra.com.au

Howard Ashton AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838